Mon, Dec 16, 2019


B7 Baltic Islands Network


What is the B7 Baltic Islands Network?

The B7 is a co-operation of islands in the Baltic Sea countries that began in 1989.

The Partners are:

Gotland (Sweden), Hiiumaa (Estonia), Rügen (Germany), Saaremaa (Estonia), Åland (autonomous region of Finland.

The Vision for the B7 islands:

The long-term vision for the islands can be explained quite simply as:

  • The islands find themselves with a richer, smarter and happier population.
  • The islands are also more in control of their own destiny than in 1990.

The Mission of the B7:

The B7 aims to use its strengths to promote the strategic goals of the islands.

The B7 islands believe that they can better serve the interests of the islanders and achieve more as a co-operation than alone.

Principles of membership:

  • Each member is a Baltic Sea region.
  • Each member contributes to the co-operation in an equal measure.
  • The B7 co-operation is a partnership of equals.


These two decision making bodies of the B7 are:

  • Steering Committee - the political body is made up of leading politicians from the islands.
  • Coordinators Group - the management body comprises senior executives from public administration.

Biannual Conference is the focal point of the B7 chairmanship period. The Biannual Conference is a forum with the purpose to convene all the members of the B7 to review the past two years and agree the plans for the coming years within the framework of the B7 Strategy. The Biannual Conference consists of, as a minimum, a Steering Committee meeting, Coordinators Group Meeting and open plenary sessions for debate and discussion.

© B7 Baltic Islands, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.